Tuesday Thingers

Today’s question: Series. Do you collect any series? Do you read series books? Fantasy? Mystery? Science fiction? Religious? Other genre? Do you use the series feature in LT to help you find new books or figure out what you might be missing from a series?

I have found that I do read series of books, although sometimes not in order. I am in the process of reading Harlan Coban’s Myron Bolitar series and also James Patterson’s Alex Cross Series, both of the crime genre. Sometimes in the past I’ve found I start out enjoying the books, but after a while they can begin to seem a bit less interesting; I used to read Clive Cussler’s Dirk Pitt adventure novels, but couldn’t read one these days and I also used to read Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series. I also enjoyed Wilbur Smith’s Sean Courtney novels. I suppose it started in my childhood as I read Enid Blyton’s Enchanted Wood tales, Famous Five, Secret Seven and also the Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis. If I happen to fall upon a book I really love and it’s part of a series I am automatically drawn to the others. These days trying to fit them in with other reads can be the difficult part. I suppose I collect them as well as read them, but I can sometimes be convinced to part with them.

I most certainly do use LT for it’s series feature. I think it’s great to keep a track of what I’m missing! It’s then just a case of finding time to track them down!

7 Responses to “Tuesday Thingers”

  1. Lenore Says:

    Narnia! That’s one I forgot in my post. And I’ve read many of the Alex Cross novels, but I don’t seek them out because they are part of a series.

  2. marie Says:

    I read the Narnia series a long time ago, and enjoyed collecting the volumes one by one. 🙂 Definitely a favorite.

  3. Helen Hunt Says:

    I didn’t read the Narnia series, but saw the movie – thought it was nice though.

    Anyway, nice review and lovely site 🙂
    Keep it up!

  4. Kathy Says:

    LOL I keep forgetting all the series I have. I have all of James Pattersons series, Alex Cross, The Womens Murder Club.

  5. Shana @ Literarily Says:

    I feel bad that I never read Narnia as a child. Maybe I can read it with my own kids.

  6. Traci Says:

    I like the Dirk Pitt books every so often, but I don’t really feel the need to read them in order. I’ve read maybe 4 or 5 of them, but I have several I haven’t gotten around to. I used to like the Alex Cross books a great deal. the last couple I read were pretty dissapointing, and I think I skipped the last one. I certainly don’t feel the strong desire to read those that I used to.

  7. Wendi B. Says:

    Oh!! You have listed some great series as well! I LOVE Clive Cussler’s Dirk Pitt books!! My dad got me hooked on those.

    Here is my first Tuesday Thingers post:

    http://wendisbookcorner.blogspot.com/2008/10/tuesday-thingers.html

    ~ Wendi


Leave a Reply

