Booking through Thursday – Most Unusual Book

From Booking Through Thursday:

What was the most unusual (for you) book you ever read? Either because the book itself was completely from out in left field somewhere, or was a genre you never read, or was the only book available on a long flight… whatever? What (not counting school textbooks, though literature read for classes counts) was furthest outside your usual comfort zone/familiar territory?

And, did you like it? Did it stretch your boundaries? Did you shut it with a shudder the instant you were done? Did it make you think? Have nightmares? Kick off a new obsession?

I would say the most unusual book that I’ve ever read was of the fantasy genre, besides Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit, as it’s not generally a genre I would read. However quite a few years ago I ended up with a surprise book from a book club and it was Virtual Mode by Piers Anthony. I do recall that I really loved it at the time and because it was No 1 in a series I was determined to read the other 3 and yet here I am years later and I’ve still never read any of the others and I do wonder if I picked them up now that I may be disappointed. I can’t say that it really pushed me to read more fantasies either. Has anyone else read the Mode books? What did you think to them?

From Amazon: The first book in the Mode series, in which a man and woman from two alternate worlds face love and danger across time and space.

Leave a Reply

