Monday Musings – The dreaded reading slump!

Should Be Reading asks the following questions:

What do YOU do when you find yourself in a reading slump? How do you get out of it? Do you keep trying different books until you find one that draws you in? Do you just give in to the slump until it passes, and do something other than reading for a time? Do you ask for help? And, if you ask for help, what great (or, not so great) advice have you been given on how to get out of the slump?

The reading slump tends to start for me after reading a great book and then picking up the next, and even knowing that it’s likely to be a good book once I get into it, I find I just haven’t the enthusiasm. To me it feels as if I am mourning the last book and need to adjust. I do tend to find I’m online more whilst in a reading slump as reading small paragraphs and reviews on other books tends to get me interested again. I certainly have not had any big slump this year; it’s generally only been a few days whereas at one time it could prolong itself for weeks!

I do tend to find that if I’m in a real slump then a change of genre can be just the thing to restart the reading brain cells. I find I very rarely pick up lots of books before choosing; I generally choose one and stick with it unless I find I absolutely cannot bear to read it. This only happens very occasionally as I do tend to know what books I am going to enjoy even if I’ve not read the author before.

5 Responses to “Monday Musings – The dreaded reading slump!”

  1. MizB Says:

    Someone else mentioned changing genres, too — perhaps reading non-fiction instead of fiction. And, this seems to have worked for me, this past time around (thankfully)!

    MizB

  2. Bluestocking Says:

    I usually re-read old favorites. I’ve got a book raffle going on! Stop by and check it out.

  3. thelogiczone Says:

    I tried to check out your site earlier Bluestocking, but I noticed your link wasn’t working: it appears there are 2 /Book_Reviews/ in the web address.

    I have managed to get there now! 🙂

  4. purplemoonmyst Says:

    I tend to get in one after I went on a reading binge. It almost like my brain refuses to take in anymore information.

  5. Memory Says:

    The reading slump tends to start for me after reading a great book and then picking up the next, and even knowing that it’s likely to be a good book once I get into it, I find I just haven’t the enthusiasm. To me it feels as if I am mourning the last book and need to adjust.

    This is my exactly. Depending on the book I just finished, I sometimes even feel like I’m in literary withdrawal! When this happens, I usually choose either a reread or something that I don’t have high expectations for. I already know that the reread’s going to be good, so it helps ease me back into the swing of things. And sometimes the low-expectations book surprises me!


Leave a Reply

