Stopped buying books – Sunday Salon

I have decided my addiction for acquiring books has had to be quashed to a certain degree. Fuel is expensive and pennies are hiding in the piggy bank and refusing to escape! I am not buying new books, or secondhand books and I’ve even slowed down my swap rate as postage is expensive too.

I am very grateful for libraries at the moment, such wonderful places to browse. The silly thing is that I have a pile of books to be read and I don’t really NEED any more at the moment, but my addiction says I must have an occasional new book in the house. Also I may not even have the time to read the library books and then how stupid I feel when they must go back unread. Oh well such is life!

I seem to be having a faze of reading memoirs at the moment and have been thoroughly enjoying them. I’m presently reading: If I Am Missing or Dead: A Sister’s Story of Love, Murder, and Liberation by Janine Latus. I don’t feel I’m really into the book yet as it has been concentrating on Janine’s & Amy’s childhood and their relationship with their father who is decidely creepy and seems to view women only through one type of spectacles. It’s an easy read, but I imagine it will be harrowing in places.

9 Responses to “Stopped buying books – Sunday Salon”

  1. Helen Hunt Says:

    Hi, I highly commend you for recognising that you had an addiction. Most people don’t even realise it till they’re almost beyond help.

    I was an Internet addict for a while until I spoke to some chap at an Internet Cafe while on summer holiday with my wife; I could not go two days without getting a fix of browsing 🙂

    Well, I think I still have left-overs!

  2. lucidlunatic Says:

    I long ago began viewing the library as an extension of my private collection. If the library doesn’t have it and I don’t have it at home, then I go buy a book. Or if I want to reread it a thousand times, or annotate it.

    And sometimes if I just happen to be near the bookstore… we all know that feeling.

  3. Beautiful Witch Says:

    I heard Janine Latus being interviewed on the radio and podcast show “Writers on Writing”. I’ve requested her book at my local library but it is very slow getting to me! I recommend the interview and yes, I imagine it will be horrifyingly harrowing in places but anything that brings attention to the issue of domestic violence is a good kind of harrowing. I can fully appreciate your book buying situation. I too have shelves full of books to read but still go and request yet more books at the library. At least this is a sane sort of addiction and we’re not off buying drugs and stealing stuff to feed our book addictions… Happy Sunday! 🙂

  4. unfinishedperson Says:

    It sounds like you should check out this challenge which I just joined over at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.

  5. Ann Darnton (Table Talk) Says:

    I had to admit my addiction an fight it via the library some time go. The only trouble is that I seem to have transferred it from books to CDs and as our library doesn’t stock those, I can’t see such an easy cure.

  6. Mrs S Says:

    I really need to slow down on my book intake too – book mooch is getting to be expensive!

    I have that If I am missing or dead book on my TBR – can’t wait to hear what you think when you’re done.

  7. frumiousb Says:

    I spend way too much on books myself, even second-hand. I’m aware that this is luxury which will have to stop when we move into our new bigger apartment and have the corresponding new bigger mortgage! I can’t reliably use the library because I’m too lax about returning books on time with my work schedule (I travel quite a bit for work) so I’ve been trading books with coworkers lately.

  8. thelogiczone Says:

    Thank you for all your comments & I’m glad I’m not alone; I have just joined up for the challenge as suggested by unfinishedperson. I hope it goes well!

  9. John Says:

    I had to cool my book swapping at spring as the TBR mountain grew to a 1000 books and would have doubled in six months had I continued. So now its a trickle but still a trickle My Holiday from Hell and Books from Heaven post.


Leave a Reply

