Deprived of Books

Was I Deprived?

I suppose it could be said that I was deprived of books as a youngster. I relished my birthday and Christmas each year where I might receive a new book for my collection, or even better: a book voucher or money so that I could choose my own book on my next visit to town!

Both my parents were readers and they knew I loved reading, but for some reason it did not occur to them or me to join a library. We lived in a village 7 miles away from the nearest town with a library and only occasionally saw a mobile library in the village which was a mystery to me. I suppose looking back that I’m sad on all that reading that I missed out upon when I was a child as I spent years rereading all the books I had many times over! I suppose the positive I could take is that I knew those books in-depth and possibly gained more from them that way than I would have if there had been an endless supply.

It’s certainly a different story now as I have lots of books and not enough time to read!

Leave a Reply

