The Richest Season by Maryann McFadden

The Richest Season by Maryann McFadden

Joanna leaves her husband Paul and escapes to a life on Pawleys Island and finds herself living with an elderly lady, Grace, who has terminal cancer. Joanna and Grace find themselves becoming closer to each other as one tries to find a new life and the other comes to terms with the end of hers. We also follow Paul who after living his life “working for the family” suddenly loses his job and starts to see his life through fresh eyes and realises there is more to life than work. He realises how much he has left Joanne alone through her life and that she needs more. He also begins to reconnect with his grown-up children whose childhood he was so often absent from. Joanna finds herself writing for a newspaper and realises this is something that she can do for herself and she also finds herself close to nature whilst waiting for loggerhead turtles to hatch on the beach.

I felt wave after wave of emotion whilst reading this book. I can certainly relate to the feelings that Joanna had and caused her to run away from what some may see as an ‘ideal’ life. Sometimes we need to get away from what we know and escape to somewhere new and actually get to know ourselves. The author captured for me the spirit of living; with laughter, sadness and grief of life all thrown in. How so much of life today is lived through materialism and people can be forgotten is really brought to the fore in this novel. It’s really rewarding to see people finding that their relationships with people are what have real meaning in this life. I truly believe that some people do have this enlightenment through their lives although I realise it will pass others by. I was sad to finish this novel as I felt I had come to know the characters and would miss them. Overall this was a thoroughly enjoyable read and I would highly recommend it.

1/2

loopyloo100

find me at Librarything

2 Responses to “The Richest Season by Maryann McFadden”

  1. Erin Says:

    I am waiting for my copy. Thanks for the review!

  2. thelogiczone Says:

    You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did,


Leave a Reply

