Hope!

I just came across this poem that I wrote many years ago when I was going through some difficult times. I seem to recall I thought of it as a dark humorous poem.

I died today, whilst investigating my soul,
Lost and without a glimmer of hope
Cast aside, as if never having meaning,
Inside I looked,
Black, evil & festering….
Were the thoughts simmering there
I glared within, fighting with hidden resources
Deep inside the gloom I spotted hope
Hope looked inviting,
I allowed myself Hope
But Hope was ‘The Devil’ in disguise

‘Too much!’ I screamed…….Hope won!

One Response to “Hope!”

  1. Betty Says:

    You did what my husband did, he found some of his old poems and posted them on his blog just recently.
    I can defiantly see how this would be taken humorous. I liked it.
    “But Hope was ‘The Devil’ in disguise” I loved that part.

    Feel free to check out my husbands blog if you get a chance let us know what you think of his poems if you get a chance. Thanks
    http://thejoereview.com/category/poetry/


Leave a Reply

