Raising the Roof by Jane Wenham-Jones

I have not read a book in this style before – unless you include Bridget Jones. It involves the story of Cari who spilts up from her husband Martin and then proceeds on an adventure in the world of property redevelopment with her pal, the madly optimistic Nigel and his band of various workmen.

This book took it’s time in beginning for me: I found the first half of the story was making too much of an effort to make me laugh and it didn’t come off, but the second half of the story became a little more dark and real and actually had me start to feel! Which I think is a good sign in a book.

I don’t think I’ll be reading many more books like this, but I am glad I gave it a go. I’m not sure who to recommend this too as I’ve not read chick-lit of late, but if you like a little dark humour then this could be for you.

loopyloo100

find me at Librarything

Leave a Reply

